I’m definitely still Rock ‘n’ Roll

Today is an unexpected family day. Mr Intrepid usually works Sunday lunchtimes (the hospitality burden) but I got lucky and we had a few hours all together. We decided on a river walk followed by a low-key lunch (a la Byron). It was so cold outside, I needed warming up and (surprise, surprise) ordered coffee. Rank. Turns out not all sugar free coffee is delicious. Coupled with the fact I couldn’t order my usual malt banana milkshake (super tasty!). I was miffed. Food as usual was delicious so this is not a negative review-it just means I need to stick with coffee shops for coffee. Lesson learnt.

Now, not only was I freezing but I was also grumpy. It took me another attempt at caffeine and a perfect coffee (thank you The Department of Coffee and Social Affairs) to gain some perspective. 

Mood swings are another symptom of sugar withdrawal as is bizarrely feeling chilly (with flu like symptoms). I know it’s cold outside but I am a bare arms and coat kind of girl so I was taken by surprise to feel freezing and desperately wishing for a jumper, a hat and gloves! I used to always feel cold until I had a baby. Then I overheated every day and had the windows open, and the central heating switched off all year round. I assumed that it was hormonal and that my new resting body temp. was just naturally a couple degrees warmer. Now, I have realised that actually it’s down to my sugar addiction (yes it’s a real thing!). I am experiencing a whole heap of withdrawal symptoms.

  • Fatigue (9pm bedtime!)
  • Mood swings
  • Change in Appetite (I am starving all the time. I’m scoffing half of my packed lunch for work as I make it!)
  • Chills 
  • Headaches
  • And also finally cravings! 

Tonight, I have eaten (inhaled actually) a handful of grapes which is a bit naughty. It may not be refined sugar but they have a lot of fructose. They tasted incredible. So unbelievably sweet. Like…well, sweets. 

Day 5 has definitely been the trickiest so far. Headaches, moods and chills and porridge oats with cinnamon as a last ditch attempt to fill me up before bed. I am still refined sugar free (just about) and with my early bed time? I am definitely still rock ‘n’ roll. I’m just having a rest.🤘🏻

Lindsay x

Leave a Reply

