Start each day with a grateful heart ❤️

I recently stumbled across an article online that was written by a girl whom I no longer speak to, nor have seen for more than 10 years.

She was once in my original Girl Gang, a great friend throughout my teenage years. We went to school together, hung out together, partied together, and eventually lived together.

I cannot pinpoint where it all went wrong to be honest. One day we were great friends, the next we were not.

I decided to go travelling with my boyfriend which meant moving out of the flat we shared together. One day during my week of ‘packing up’ I came home from work and she had gone. It was a tricky time. The rest of the gang were still friends and for a while there was lots of nonsense floating about, “she said this, I did that, her friends did this, this happened…” You know what I mean, don’t you?  That’s often the down side of having a Girl Gang. When there’s trouble in paradise, girls are the worst for stirring it up. Especially teenage girls. We never spoke again and gradually over the years the rest of the gang spread out and followed new paths.

I did see her in a club once and tried to make friendly drunk conversation, but it never went past the ‘how are you’s..?’  We finished up on on bad terms and after all the things that were said, there was a grudge.

Anyway today, she popped up and for the first time in years I remembered her. Downtrodden. That’s the first word that came to mind when I thought of her. I knew her to be moody and negative. After reading her article, I’ve realised now she was just unhappy. I can’t believe now I didn’t realise that at the time. I let my own teenage angst rise above everything. How different we’ve become as adults? 

She has written a few books and they have been published. I am surprised, shocked even at her outlook at life, and the biggest surprise of all?  I’m not bitter, I am inspired. The article does her a great justice, her life is very different now. I am grateful that I paused to read it. She starts each day with a grateful heart. I cannot reconcile in my head, the person I once knew, with the positive person she is now. Despite the fact we are no longer friends, I am full of gratitude that our lives once crossed paths.

Lindsay X

Leave a Reply

