And I Will Always Looovvveee EU….

One of the things I love about living in London (I know it’s Surrey now-but my heart belongs to London), is the diversity (and also the food!). So many different cultures walking and living side by side with each other. Walking down the street here, you could really could be in any City in the world. Everywhere I turn, there is Italian, French, or Greek. Not to mention our Non-EU friends Chinese, Indian, Mexican and Japanese, and I am not just talking about food.

It has been more than a week since our PM, David Cameron called the referendum. The Brexit referendum that sealed the fate for the entire continent. It should never have happened. The responsibility of the result rested on the British people.  We were not given enough information, and I for one did not feel educated enough.

Young Britons voted largely to remain, and it’s this multicultural generation that has lost it’s future.  In 20 years time, many of these Aged Britons whom voted overwhelmingly to leave (out of misplaced beliefs that this may reduce immigration or make us financially better off), will be dead. The consequences of their vote has left my son with an ambiguous future ahead.

The foreign-exchange markets tells us everything, we need to know about the financial implications. The consequences will not end here. The British vote will embolden Countries across Europe for similar referendums. Have you noticed how France still prints the French Franc conversion on all of their receipts? Trust me, they are ready to go at the drop of the hat.  It is only a matter of time before France will want its own referendum as I am sure, will Scotland. This is the beginning of the end.

Northern Ireland and Scotland voted overwhelmingly to remain in the EU.  It was England whom drove this result. The Leave campaign promoted the idea of a Global Britain one with more room for immigrants.  I am no politician but it is clear to me that this was a racist campaign that has only created further hostilities and a wary future ahead for my son.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not believe that all those who voted leave are racists but my Facebook news feed implies many are, and they have used this campaign as a platform to justify their beliefs and fist bump in racist glee.

We are now entering a world which will retreat from progress. One fuelled by mutual distrust, and nationalism. A world in which all those bridges are about to come tumbling down. I am grieving. The world as we know it, one of hope, equality and unity has changed forever.  After taking many steps forward, we have just taken one big step back.

England has surprised me and my heart is broken.`

Broken_heart.svg

 

 

Leave a Reply

